Wk4 – Art Experience – Graffiti

Before this experience, my view on graffiti was vandalism. However, thanks to the video shown in class this past week has opened up my eyes. Graffiti is a form of art and expression used in different places of the world. I can see that in Berlin, this was used as a  form to show distrust in the government, in France graffiti was used as a form to show the increase and want of change in the homeless population, and in Japan this was used to show political turmoil.

During this experience, it felt different as I’ve never done anything like this before. Although this graffiti was not a form of expression, I was able to see how others use graffiti to express themselves. While doing this, it was similar to relieving stress because I was able to do something to take stress of my mind.

I found this experience more unique compared to the others because this past Thursday, I went to go watch a movie at the Chinese Theater in Hollywood and I saw someone painting these portraits using spray paint. What can be done with spray paint is endless.

Below is my work with graffiti. It was done using purple and yellow and I did it on cardboard.

t, in France graffiti was used as a form to show the increase and want of change in the homeless population, and in Japan this was used to show political turmoil.

During this experience, it felt different as I’ve never done anything like this before. Although this graffiti was not a form of expression, I was able to see how others use graffiti to express themselves. While doing this, it was similar to relieving stress because I was able to do something to take stress of my mind.

Below is my work with graffiti. It was done with these colors and on this.

Leave a Reply

