Wk14 – Art Experience – Sketching in the Garden

The art experience of this week was what comes to mind in a traditional art class setting. Although, I have a hard time with drawing, and art in general, this art experience was enjoyable. Since the meet up was at the Japanese Gardens, I enjoyed that because instead of walking from Parkside all the way to the end of upper campus, I got to walk just a couple hundred feet to the Japanese Gardens. It was also my first time in the Japanese Gardens, and I was impressed. Once I found a place to sit, I decided to start sketching. Whenever I started a new sketch, I didn’t know if it was going to be a representation or abstract piece, so I let the art and inspiration come to me. My abstract pieces ended up being pieces where there was nature involved and I was able to put my own interpretation. My representation pieces ended up being the decks that extend in to the water and bridges. Overall, I found this activity relaxing. Due to being in the Japanese Gardens, I was able to relax and just get my work done.

*Side note, when I tried rotating the image, for whatever reason parts of the image would get cut off.

 

Leave a Reply

